Juggling Books

burroughs-rare-jewel-christian-contentmentPridePrejudice423x630

“I declare after all there is no enjoyment like reading! How much sooner one tires of any thing than of a book! — When I have a house of my own, I shall be miserable if I have not an excellent library.”
― Miss Bingley in Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice

2016 Reading Challenge Update—Making some progress. Have actually finished four books! I know, not really a record, but it’s satisfactory. Plus, making a purposeful effort to dive into reading more (and comprehending more) is, personally, a cause for mentioning here. When you can fit in time for reading after work and making time for family–better still, incorporating more reading into daily time with one’s family- finishing four books into March is all the more jubilatory. Still, I’m always up for improvement. That’s why I always juggle several books at a time. Some get full treatment while others get flung off and ricochet somewhere between my ambition and the back of the book shelf and into that forgotten realm of good intentions.

Currently, I’m going back and forth between Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice and Jeremiah Burroughs’ The Rare Jewel of Christian Contentment to fulfill the “classic novel” and “Christian living” quotas in the basic level of the Challenge respectively. Throw in A.A. Milne’s The Complete Tales of Winnie-the-Pooh at the children’s bedtime and it’s a modest juggle act. As far as the pace of reading goes, I’m going at a rather slow rate. Reading tends to be easier if I’m focused. Picking up Ridley Scott’s The Martian from Redbox completely destroyed any intent to crack open a cover and partake of words when I arrived home. I was inspired to grow potatoes, however.

I’m looking at maybe reading Family Worship by Donald S. Whitney to fulfill reading a book published in 2016. We’ll see. In the meantime, I must finish what I’ve started and am currently reading before I plod ahead. Happy reading!

 

Leave a Reply

