House Shopping and the Solace of God’s Sovereignty

DSCN6652

Thou art the blessed God, happy in Thyself, source of happiness in Thy creatures, my maker, benefactor, proprietor, upholder. Thou hast produced and sustained me, supported and indulged me, saved and kept me; Thou art in every situation able to meet my needs and miseries.

-Divine Support, The Valley of Vision: A Collection of Puritan Prayers & Devotions

My wife and I are in the middle of shopping for a house to buy. We have been pre-approved and have been searching out listings via realtor websites. Today was the first day we went out with a real estate agent to look at houses. We (me, my wife and our five kids) went to look at five different places and at least one we really like to the point we are praying about and thinking about making an offer on. Facing a mortgage is so very surreal, however. It’s a commitment one ought not to take lightly. The foreclosure rate during the last housing market crash still is fresh on my mind (and I have never had a mortgage before). There are many “what-ifs” and uncertainties in life, and taking steps towards any substantial life-altering decision is more than slightly daunting.

Recently, I had a chance to converse through texts with a good friend of mine, who has a wife and three children and currently lives in Nebraska. We both expressed witnessing the very stark and important truth of God’s sovereignty in each of our own lives. “Man plans his way, but the LORD directs his steps,” my buddy texted, quoting Proverbs 16:9. I found solace and freedom in that reminder. God made the Universe, galaxies, stars, planets (even one’s with debatable statuses like Pluto), and He upholds all of it! It isn’t a long shot, then, to trust in God’s provision for temporal needs. In fact, His unfathomable free grace bestowed to His people laden with the wages of sin is more than enough to sing praise for all eternity even if He did nothing but that.

That will be my meditation during this time of seeking the right and wise thing to do while house shopping and facing mortgage terms.

 
Leave a Reply

