A Stranger and a Vagabond—and Old Lunch Pales

Photo: Matt Valdez
Photo: Matt Valdez
“Further up and further in”
C.S. Lewis, The Last Battle

Topically, my blogging is all over the place. I reckon I’m in a state of restlessness as I wait anxiously for my wife to hatch out the new addition to our family. That restless feeling shows up in every day situations as a regular special guest on my own personal imaginary day time talk show. You are welcome to go back and read that last sentence to try to forge some sense from it–you have my blessing. My whole personality is in the middle of a paradigm shift, betwixt being a father of four to being a father of five. I’m not the one who will go into labor–my wife will. I’ll be there with her, but it will be her doing the laboring. So, in my traditional way of writing, with no real clear thesis, I believe I shall jump to the next paragraph.

Regaining coherence from the first paragraph, I am trying to convey my shotgun style writing as of late. In some posts I may write about some rock in Wyoming. In another post I may jot out word counts about aging folk singers I have never met, and in others still, I may rant about hypocrisy–the Church’s hypocrisy and my own hypocrisy. All over the place kind of blogging; a smorgasbord of a melting pot of literary cheese.

I really am searching for a common theme for this blog. My initial intention in starting this blog was to contrive a boat load of posts that would attract a million followers, magnetize the advertisements and ivory tower publishers, get stupidly wealthy churning out wordy basura, and retire in the Caymans while I blog about my successes. Since that may be a logistical nightmare to materialize, my secondary purpose was to be content with what I have and write about whatever comes to mind. As a Christian and recovering All Dogs Go to Heaven watcher, the common thread [subliminal message alert] is to do whatever I do for God’s glory.

As the tagline to my blog, Another Wayfaring Pilgrim, suggests, I have a passion for the nomadic and sense of not belonging in this world. The random lunch pale photo above somehow ties into this vagabond sentiment I have, though I am really not sure how. Perhaps if I throw out big words I do not understand, the connection will magically appear and this post will not be for naught. Negatory on that, Rubber Ducky.

I’m going to have to buckle down and work hard to makeshift some semblance out of this post. Starting with the photo, the lunch box and book beside it incite a fleeting desire to ramble which has some connection to the very heart of what lies deep in this reality of Christianity. As C.S. Lewis said in Mere Christianity, “If we find ourselves with a desire that nothing in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that we were made for another world.”  I believe that’s what that “rambling fever” that we all find exists within us is driving at.

“If we find ourselves with a desire that nothing in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that we were made for another world.”

Among other things, it’s Thermos pales, stray reading material, a compass, and Moleskine notebooks which arouses my soul to feel this overwhelming peculiarity, the desire for that other country. It’s not some subjective wantonness to abandon all loved ones and  responsibilities, but it’s the desire to reach that glories destination where my Redeemer is. This wanderlust, if you can call it that, actually causes me to refocus and enjoy, love, and appreciate my wife and children and all the new responsibilities that come with having a family. If anything, the understanding that “this world is not my home and I’m just a-passing through” obliges me to take care of how I dwell here and how I care for the blessings God has entrusted to me. Again, it’s overwhelming and wonderful.

One thought on “A Stranger and a Vagabond—and Old Lunch Pales

Leave a Reply

