The Mundane: Tools to Glorify God

Went to work today on what usually is my day off. My wife gave birth to our fourth child nearly three weeks ago on one of my scheduled work days, and we were happy that my company let me have the day off without deducting pay. So I made up for it. It’s highly unusual for companies today to give you grief for taking a day off for life events. Pretty sure there are a few laws floating around that help out the worker as well.

Among the jobs today, I went and loaded and transported a 20′ metal container box to a construction yard in Winnemucca. Not very exciting material for a Facebook post much less for a blog entry. But that is everyday life: the mundane is the miraculous. As a Christian, I believe (in light of God’s sovereign grace) that even driving an old Freightliner truck with a metal box that will be used for storage in a dusty construction yard can be an act of worship. “And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him” (Colossians 3:17, ESV).

That goes for the unsung work done at home by my wife.

I called her from work (not from a hands-free device) and left her a short voice mail message. This evening after supper she told me she was busy washing out a cloth diaper in the toilet when I called. Sanctification in one of its many forms. When I was 19, I read a short book by John Piper called Don’t Waste Your Life. Reading it I was inspired, then as a single man just starting out, to make it my aim to glorify Christ in whatever I do. I haven’t always succeeded but I think in a way the very fact I am not always successful or obedient to Him draws me to Him all the more. To “make much of Christ” in the extraordinary and (perhaps more importantly) the ordinary times is the desire of my heart as well as my wife’s heart.

I reckon, them, that these unexciting things are quite all right. Dusty metal storage boxes and dirty baby diapers alike are too.

Leave a Reply

